Error Resolution

Error Resolution:  The following information is intended to establish and document a consistent way of addressing errors or issues that inevitably occur when playing a competitive event via e-mail.

Guiding Principles

  • You can not do in PBEM what you could not do in face to face play.
  • If the resolution of an error could reasonably be affected by knowledge of prior die rolls, such die rolls need to be rerolled.
  • Players may address errors in any mutually agreeable manner.  Disputes brought to the attention of the GameMaster or his assistants will be addressed using these guidelines and common sense.

Error Definition

A turn is not considered complete until it is error free.  The non-erring player is required to return turns with errors with the expectation that the erring player will correct them from the impulse of the error.  The non-erring player may propose corrections but his opponent is not obligated to adhere to them.  Except in very unusual situations, errors may not be corrected once the non-erring player starts his move.

Errors can be caught by the erring player even if the non-erring player missed it. However, when he mails a following move, it would stand. The intent of this rule is to protect a player from his own error even if his opponent chooses to ignore it.  (See Example #3 below.)

For the purpose of error classification, a turn is compromised of two segments; a movement segment followed by a combat segment.  An error in the movement segment allows the phasing player to correct any movement.  An error in the combat segment requiring one reroll requires *all* dice to be rerolled..  Errors in the combat segment do not require a re-execution of the movement segment.  Example:   If you incorrectly state the odds, you can not go back and adjust your movement.

Movement Segment Errors  (Including replacements and reinforcements)

  • Reinforcements not taken are brought on in the next possible impulse.   The non-erring player may always force the erring player to correct the turn by bringing them on in the correct impulse and moving them appropriately.
  • Sea moves should identify the unit and the destination.  Once the die is rolled for a valid sea move, that sea move must take place regardless of any other movement corrections that occur subsequently.
  • If switching identical units would correct a problem, this situation is not considered an error in either the movement or combat segments.  Units are considered identical if they are equivalent in all respects except for unit identifier and there are no special rules governing either particular unit within the time frame of the scenario being played.  Example:  The German 26th and 11th infantry are unique in all scenarios ending on or after July/August 1943.
  • Units are usually ‘switched’ by the defending player to address movement or attack problems.  It may also be done to address problems involving unit replacements.  Please note that the defender does this at his own discretion but he must specifically inform his opponent of the change.
  • The non-phasing player is responsible for ensuring that all Stuka attacks are legal.  Once rolled by the non-phasing player, any combats involving an illegal Stuka attack must stand.

Combat Segment Errors:

  • Any errors that result in one battle having to be rerolled will require that ALL battles that impulse be rerolled.
  • Miscalculating your odds is not by itself a cause for redoing any movement.  Exception:  If a player cannot make legal attacks (all attacks 1:6 or better) due to miscalculating, it is a movement error.
  • All battles are resolved at the actual odds unless specifically lowered by the attacker.
  • If applying a movement segment correction impacts any combat segment activity in any way then all potentially affected combat should be rerolled.
  • If an illegal attack requires reassigning attacking units then all attacks that could have been affected have to be rerolled.  See Example #4 below.

Clock Impact in timed matches:

The first three days it takes the non-offending player to find the error and ask for a redo count against the non-offending player.  Any days after that are split evenly between both players.

Error Resolution when using E-mail based Dice:

  • Results are valid if the die roller sends them to both parties. If one player does not get the result the opponent needs to forward a complete copy as an attachment.
  • If the phasing player sends more than one request for a die roll(s) he should label them “Try 2”,  “Try 3”, or in some other fashion that will allow his opponent to properly ‘order’ the roll requests.
  • The first set of results received by both of the players is considered to be valid.  If it cannot be authoritatively determined which result came back first, or if they were received in a different order, the valid result set is the one that was first requested.
  • If battles are being resolved individually, each result set must reference the specific battle and the overall sequence number of the battle; i.e., “Battle #1”, “Battle #2”, etc.  Unreferenced results are not counted as valid dice rolls.
  • If fewer dice are used then are rolled, trailing rolls are dropped UNLESS the player specifically says “Assign die roll number n to combat number y.”  Otherwise, dice are assigned in the order they were rolled to the battles in the order that they were listed.

Examples of error resolutions:

  • The Russian brings on too many replacement factors.   The Soviet player is responsible for designating replacement units.  The German is responsible for checking this prior to rolling for the Soviet combat.  Once the German starts rolling the Soviet combat, the error stands.
  • The Russian moves an infantry unit too many hexes on first impulse.  He then resolves his first impulse combat.  He completes his second impulse and resolves second impulse without waiting for German confirmation of the first impulse movement and combat.  The German, at the beginning of his turn, may call for a complete re-execution of the first and second impulses.
  • The German sends the wrong ‘end of turn’ move for May 1942, i.e., he sends his final unit dispositions for the March/April 1942 move.  The Russian accepts it and does his May/June 1942 starting from this incorrect position. The German prior to his July/August 42 move may call for the error to get fixed.
  • Four hexes of attackers are making three attacks against three hexes of defenders. The middle defender’s hex was listed as 1:6 but it was determined that the actual odds were less then 1:6. There are two possible fixes, each involving one of the other two attacks. All three must be rerolled.
  • The defending player rolls the combats.  He accidentally specifies the wrong address for his opponent.  The combat resolution does not count and must be rerolled using the correct address.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *